The Oregon Reader's Choice Award is a project of the Oregon Library Association and was founded in 2010. The award is intended to be a fun and exciting way for Oregon youth in grades 4-12 to become enthusiastic and disciminating readers. During the course of the school year, Oregon students choose their favorite book in a real-life democratic process.








The 2017 Oregon Reader’s Choice Awards winners were announced at the Oregon Library Association/Oregon Association of School Libraries conference in Salem. The winners are:

Upper Elementary: El Deafo by Cece Bell

Nominees for the 2018 ORCA were also announced. They are:

Upper Elementary Division (grades 3-5):

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley
Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
George by Alex Gino
My Near Death Adventures (99% True!) by Alison DeCamp
Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper
The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett and Jory John
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones

Past Winners

2017 Winners
Upper Elementary Division: El Deafo by Cece Bell
Middle School Division: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
High School Division: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

2016 Winners
Upper Elementary Division: Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein
Middle School Division: Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan
High School Division: The Living by Matt de la Pena

2015 Winners
Upper Elementary Division: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
Middle School Division: Ungifted by Gordon Korman
High School Division: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

2014 Winners
Upper Elementary Division: Pie by Sarah Weeks
Middle School Division: Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life by James Patterson
High School Division: Divergent by Veronica Roth

2013 Winners
Junior (Upper Elementary) Division: Meanwhile: Pick Any Path by Jason Shiga
Intermediate (Middle School) Division: Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Senior (High School) Division: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

2012 Winners
Junior Division: 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass
Intermediate Division: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Senior Division: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

2011 Winners
Junior Division: The Stonekeeper: Amulet #1 by Kibuishi
Intermediate Division: Elephant Run by Roland Smith
Senior Division: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins